New Secretary Of State Sworn In

Photo: Ford, Brad

Oregon’s 29th Secretary of State, LaVonne Griffin-Valade, was sworn into office today by Oregon Supreme Court Chief Justice Meagan Aileen Flynn at Governor Tina Kotek’s ceremonial office in the Oregon State Library. Secretary Griffin-Valade was joined by her husband, members of her family, Governor Tina Kotek and Acting Secretary of State Cheryl Myers.  

Secretary Griffin-Valade will serve the remaining 18 months of the current term, vacated by former Secretary of State Shemia Fagan after her resignation on May 8

The Oregon Secretary of State is one of three constitutional offices created at statehood. Oregon’s Secretary of State is Oregon’s chief elections officer, chief auditor, and oversees the State Archives and the Oregon Corporation Division. The Secretary of State also serves as one of three members of the State Land Board and as the chair of the Oregon Sustainability Board. As an independent constitutional officer, the Secretary of State answers directly and solely to the people of Oregon. 

Source: Oregon Secretary of State's Office

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content